Directed by Prabhu Deva
Produced by Sanjay Leela Bhansali
Ronnie Screwvala
Story by K. V. Vijayendra Prasad
Based on Vikramarkudu by S. S. Rajamouli
Starring Akshay Kumar
Sonakshi Sinha
Paresh Ganatra
Gurdeep Kohli
Music by Sajid-Wajid
Production company SLB Films
Distributed by UTV Motion Pictures
Release dates 1 June 2012
Running time 143 minutes
Country India
Language Hindi
Budget ₹450 million (US $6.7 million)
Box office
₹2.06 billion (US $31 million)

Rowdy Rathore is a 2012 action drama film directed by Prabhu Deva and produced by Rajat Rawail, Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Ronnie Screwvala. It is a remake of the Telugu film Vikramarkudu. The film features Akshay Kumar in double roles opposite Sonakshi Sinha and Paresh Ganatra, Yashpal Sharma, Gurdeep Kohli in supporting role with Tamil actor Nassar as antagonist. The music was composed by Sajid-Wajid and lyrics are penned by Faaiz Anwar and Sameer Anjaan. It marks the return of Akshay Kumar in the action genre after seven years. Also South Indian actor Vijay did a special appearance in this film.

Rowdy Rathore revolves around a thief Shiva who falls in love with a young woman named Paro and later found a responsibility to take care for his deceased lookalike ASP Vikram Rathore's daughter while seeking revenge from the main antagonist Baapji. It was shot primarily in Mumbai at SLB production house and then in the state of Karnataka at locations of UNESCO World Heritage sites including Hampi. Made on a budget of ₹450 million (US$6.7 million), Rowdy Rathore released on 1 June 2012 on 2700 screens worldwide. It received mixed response from critics, whilst opening to strong box office collections and became a major commercial success with a worldwide gross of ₹2.06 billion (US$31 million). The film was declared a "Blockbuster" in India and "average" in Overseas by Box Office India. Rowdy Rathore has since emerged as one of the highest grossing films of all time in Bollywood.


Post a Comment

Please review the movie by commenting here »