Directed by Karan Johar
Produced byHiroo Yash Johar
Gauri Khan
Starring Sidharth Malhotra
Varun Dhawan
Alia Bhatt
Rishi Kapoor
Ronit Roy
Ram Kapoor
Sana Saeed
Narrated by Group of cast
Music by Vishal-Shekhar
Nazia Hassan
Production company Dharma Productions
Red Chillies Entertainment
Distributed by Dharma Productions (India)
Eros Entertainment (International)
Release dates 19 October 2012
Running time 146 minutes
Country India
Language Hindi

Student of the Year is a 2012 Indian romantic drama film directed by Karan Johar and produced by Hiroo Yash Johar under the banner of Dharma Productions and in collaboration with Shah Rukh Khan's Red Chillies Entertainment. The movie features newcomers Sidharth Malhotra, Varun Dhawan and Alia Bhatt in the lead roles with Rishi Kapoor, Sana Saeed, Ronit Roy, Ram Kapoor and Farida Jalal in supporting roles. The movie also features Boman Irani, Kajol, Farah Khan and Vaibhavi Merchant in guest appearances. This is Karan Johar's first directorial venture without Shah Rukh Khan.

Student of the Year was released on 19 October 2012 in over 1400 locations across India. It was a critical and commercial success and gained positive to mixed reviews from critics and good box office collections. The movie is one of the highest grossing Bollywood films of 2012.


Sidharth Malhotra Abhimanyu Singh
Varun Dhawan Rohan Nanda
Alia Bhatt Shanaya Singhania Singh
Rishi Kapoor Dean Yogendra
Sana Saeed Tanya Israni
Sahil Anand Jeet Khurana
Manasi Rachh Shruti Pathak
Kayoze Irani Kaizad "Sudo" Sodabottleopenerwala
Manjot Singh Dimpy
Ronit Roy Coach Shah
Ram Kapoor Ashok Nanda
Gautami Kapoor Gayatri Nanda
Farida Jalal Abhimanyu's grandmother
Akshay Anand Abhimanyu's uncle
Manini Mishra Geeta Singh (Abhimanyu's aunt)
Prachi Shah Coach Shah's wife
Nandini Sen Shanaya's mother
Boman Irani Harikishan Sanan
Sushma Seth Yogendra's mother (Cameo)
Kajol a guest appearance in "The Disco Song"
Farah Khan a guest appearance as a judge in "The Disco Song"
Vaibhavi Merchant a guest appearance as a judge in "The Disco Song"


The soundtrack is composed by Vishal-Shekhar with the lyrics penned by Anvita Dutt Guptan.

  1. The Disco Song
    Benny Dayal, Nazia Hassan & Sunidhi Chauhan
  2. Ishq Wala Love
    Shekhar Ravjiani, Salim Merchant & Neeti Mohan
  3. Radha
    Shreya Ghoshal, Udit Narayan, Vishal Dadlani & Shekhar Ravjiani
  4. Ratta Maar
    Vishal Dadlani & Shefali Alvares
  5. Kukkad
    Shahid Mallya & Nisha Mascarenhas
  6. Vele
    Shekhar Ravjiani & Vishal Dadlani
  7. Mashup of the Year
    Various artists, DJ Kiran Kamath


Post a Comment

Please review the movie by commenting here »