Directed by Prakash Jha
Produced by Prakash Jha
Ronnie Screwvala
Siddharth Roy Kapur
Written by Anjum Rajabali
Prakash Jha
Starring Amitabh Bachchan
Ajay Devgn
Kareena Kapoor
Arjun Rampal
Manoj Bajpai
Amrita Rao
Music by Salim-Sulaiman
Indian Ocean
Meet Bros Anjjan
Aadesh Shrivastava
Production companyPrakash Jha Productions
UTV Motion Pictures
Distributed by UTV Motion Pictures
Release dates 30 August 2013
Running time 153 minutes
Country India
Language Hindi
Budget ₹50 crore (US$7.4 million)

Satyagraha is a 2013 Indian Hindi political drama film directed by Prakash Jha starring Amitabh Bachchan, Ajay Devgn, Kareena Kapoor, Arjun Rampal, Manoj Bajpai, Mitalee Jagtap Varadkar, Amrita Rao, Jagat Singh and Vipin Sharma in the lead roles. The first look of the film was released on 10 September 2012. Satyagraha was released on 30 August 2013, although it released in the UAE one day before on 29 August. The teaser was released online on 30 May 2013 and theatrically attached with Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani.


Amitabh Bachchan

He plays the role of Dwarka Anand, a man who is a firm believer of truth and an inherent believer of society who wants his son to give back to society and the nation all that they have given him.

Ajay Devgn

He plays the role of Manav Raghvendra. He represents shining India and is a brilliant telecommunication czar who uses the ways of the world to get what he wants.

Kareena Kapoor

She plays the role of Yasmin Ahmed. She is a hard headed TV reporter out in the field. She digs deep and has an opinion. She has a very strong relationship with Manav but when they clash on ideology they break up. Later they reunite when he comes back to his principles.

Arjun Rampal

Plays the role of Arjun, a strong socially committed to become a politician. He studied in the same school of which Dwarka Anand was the principal.

Manoj Bajpai

Plays the role of Balram Singh, wily young politician who uses every means to break the system. He is the real threat to democracy.

Amrita Rao

She plays the role of Sumitra Anand (Dwarka's daughter in-law).

Vipin Sharma

He plays the role of Gauri Shankar, the Leader of the Opposition.

Natasa Stankovic , in a special appearance in an item song.

Mitalee Jagtap Varadkar

Mugdha Godse as Malini Mishra, a sultry, opportunistic corporate lady.

Indraneil Sengupta as Akhilesh, Dwarka Anand's son (cameo).

Prakash Jha in a special appearance.


The soundtrack of Satyagraha is composed by Salim-Sulaiman, Aadesh Srivastav, ambikapur Indian Ocean and Meet Bros Anjan, while the lyrics penned by Prasoon Joshi. It was released on 30 July 2013.

1. Satyagraha
Rajiv Sundaresan, Shivam Pathak & Shweta Pandit


Aiyo Ji
Salim Merchant & Shraddha Pandit


Raske Bhare Tore Naina Shafqat Amanat Ali & Arpita

Janta Rocks
Meet Bros Anjjan,
Keerthi Sagathia,
Shibani Kashyap,
Shalmali Kholgade,


Hume Bole The Rahul Ram, Amit Kilam & Himanshu Joshi

Raske Bhare Tore Naina
(House Mix)

Aadesh Shrivastava and Arpita


Aiyo Ji (Remix) Salim Merchant & Sharddha Pandit


Post a Comment

Please review the movie by commenting here »