Piku is a 2015 Indian comedy-drama film directed by Shoojit Sircar and produced by N.P. Singh, Ronnie Lahiri and Sneha Rajani. It stars Deepika Padukone as the titular protagonist, Amitabh Bachchan and Irrfan Khan, with Moushumi Chatterjee and Jisshu Sengupta portraying supporting roles. It tells the story of the short-tempered Piku Banerjee (Padukone), her grumpy, ageing father Bhashkor (Bachchan) and Rana Chaudhary (Khan), who is stuck between the father-daughter duo, as they embark on a journey from Delhi to Kolkata.

Directed by Shoojit Sircar
Produced by N.P. Singh,
Ronnie Lahiri,
Sneha Rajani
Written by Juhi Chaturvedi
Starring Amitabh Bachchan,
Deepika Padukone,
Irrfan Khan
Music by Anupam Roy
Production company MSM Motion Pictures,
Saraswati Entertainment Creations Limited,
Rising Sun Films
Distributed by Yash Raj Films
Release date 8 May 2015
Running time 122 minutes
Country India
Language Hindi,
Budget ₹38 crore
Box office ₹141 crore

The story and screenplay was written by Juhi Chaturvedi. Principal photography began in August 2014 and was wrapped up in December. Anupam Roy composed the soundtrack and score, and wrote the lyrics.

Piku was released on 8 May 2015. It garnered wide critical acclaim upon release. Critics praised the screenplay, performances, humour and overall simplicity. It also emerged as a commercial success worldwide. Made on a budget of ₹420 million(US$6.5 million), Piku earned ₹1.41 billion(US$22 million) worldwide.

On January 11, 2016, the film was nominated for Best Film in the 61st Filmfare Awards, as well as other categories. Padukone won her second Filmfare Award for Best Actress, and Bachchan received his fourth National Film Award for Best Actor at the 63rd National Film Awards and his third Filmfare Critics Award for Best Actor for his performance.


Amitabh Bachchan as Bhashkor Banerjee
Deepika Padukone as Piku Banerjee
Irrfan Khan as Rana Chaudhary
Jisshu Sengupta as Syed Afroz
Moushumi Chatterjee as Chhobi Mashi
Balendra Singh as Budhan
Swaroopa Ghosh as Moni kaaki
Raghuvir Yadav as Dr. Srivastava
Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury as Nabendu
Akshay Oberoi as Aniket
Rupsa Banerjee as Eisha


Anupam Roy composed the soundtrack and wrote the lyrics. The first song, "Journey Song", was released on 1 April 2015. The official music album was released online on April 21, 2015.

Soundtrack album by Anupam Roy
Released 21 April 2015
Genre Feature film Soundtrack
Length 24:30
Label Zee Music Company

No. Title Singer(s) Length
1. "Bezubaan" Anupam Roy 05:37
2. "Journey Song" Anupam Roy, Shreya Ghoshal 04:12
3. "Lamhe Guzar Gaye" Anupam Roy 04:16
4. "Piku" Sunidhi Chauhan 03:26
5. "Teri Meri Baatein" Anupam Roy 05:39
6. "Piku Remix (DJ AKS)" Sunidhi Chauhan 02:00

Total length:24:30


Post a Comment

Please review the movie by commenting here »